Batangas, Luzon, Philippines – 1945/6

During the final year of World War II, while still a high school student at Presque Isle, Maine, my father, Boyd Lunney, was drafted into the US Army.  He was trained in a hurry, and then shipped over to steamy Batangas on the island of Luzon in the Philippines.

One day at Batangas, a Captain asked if anyone knew how to type.  My Dad raised his hand, and then was told to report for duty at the Captain’s office.  Later, when the Captain saw Dad typing with two fingers, “hunt & peck” style, the angry Captain said: Sgt. Lunney…You said that you knew how to type!” My Dad replied: “I can..Sir..You didn’t ask how fast.” The Captain was amused…and Sgt. Boyd Lunney kept his job as Capt. William Beck’s assistant.

Sixty-five year later, retired Capt. William Lloyd Beck, had died at age 92, leaving hundreds of well-preserved and meticulously labelled photos.  I recently received an email from Nora Beck, Capt. Beck’s daughter, who had been searching the internet for an address for my Dad.  Nora had been going through her late father’s photo collection, found one of Dad, labelled “Sgt. Boyd A. Lunney – my assistant” ; so she wanted to find Dad and send the photo to him.  Because of my Lunney Family website, she was able to find out that I was Boyd Lunney’s son and then send me the email.  I asked her to send me the photo, so that I could scan it.  I received a nice note from her, from Nashville TN, along with several photos.  Here are a few:

 

Batangas, Luzon, Philippines – 1946

Isn’t the Internet amazing?

Some people are not on-line…or are afraid to post their e-mail address on-line.

See what they’re missing.

Timothy Lunney

1 Comment

Filed under Lunney Family News, Uncategorized

One response to “Batangas, Luzon, Philippines – 1945/6

  1. Sir, I am Jigger Gilera, M.D., a physician from Batangas, Philippines. I need some world war and postworld war photos for my research regarding Batangas History. May I ask for the email of Nora Beck. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

